Kefir Oatcakes

I have a high powered job ahead of me this week, one that would be nice if it brought in a high-powered six figure salary. HA! All kidding aside, I have the best job in the world, and I would not want anyone to pay me for it — a stay-at-home mom to two loving and lively boys! My second “job” I love just as much and keeps things just as lively – and that is to feed the family, particularly Thanksgiving dinner on Thursday! I am sure you couldn’t guess it, but I volunteered to make the desserts! Who would have thought! My Mom and my sister do a good job dressing the turkey and providing the trimmings so I thought I shouldn’t mess up their groove! As you all know, my groove is desserts, so I thought I shouldn’t mess that up either – I’ll stick to what I’m good at!

Since I’ve already blogged about several possible Thanksgiving desserts, I figure I needed to share one of my high-powered breakfast recipes, Kefir Oakcakes, that keeps me fueled all morning while I prep for the Thanksgiving feast. They are oh so very satisfying and healthy. Kefir is a cultured probiotic drink that tastes like liquid yogurt and is very good for you. It is high in protein and fiber and can be substituted in recipes that call for buttermilk. The original recipe came from the March/April 2012 issue of Eating Well and was created by Chef Susan Todoroff owner of Juicy Kitchen.

I wish all of you and your families the Happiest of Thanksgivings. Eat up!

Kefir Oatcakes

Kefir Oakcakes

2 cups well-shaken plain Kefir
1 large egg
1 1/2 cups old-fashioned oats
1/2 cup white whole wheat flour
2 tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon apple pie spice
 

Whisk kefir and egg in a medium bowl. Make sure the kefir is well shaken before you pour it into the bowl or it will come out very watery. Combine oats, flour, sugar, baking soda, and apple pie spice in another bowl. Mix dry and wet ingredients and let stand while you heat the pancake skillet with oil or butter over medium heat. The oatcake batter will bubble slightly. With a 1/4 cup measuring utensil, spoon the batter onto the hot griddle and cook each side until slightly browned and cooked in the center, about 2-4 minutes per side. Serve hot with maple syrup and/or fruit. Yield: 4 servings (about 3 pancakes each)

High-powered ingredients
 high powered ingredients
 Dry and wet mixtures

dry ingredients     wet ingredients

Oatcake batter. Let’s get cookin’

oatcake batter

Sizzlin’ hot oatcakes! Stomach is growling! My appetite is the size of the turkey right about now.

sizzlin' hot oatcakes

Let the high-powered breakfast begin!

Kefir Oakcakes

I added some blackberries because I just don’t do “naked” pancakes!

Kefir Oakcakes with blackberries     Kefir Oakcakes with blackberries

About soupermomskitchen

My day begins and ends in the kitchen, and I believe all moms have a little (or a lot) of Super Woman in them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kefir Oatcakes

  1. Joan DeLuca says:

    I hope you’re making these for Chrissy and me since one can’t arrive at dessert but through the dinner! Love ya, Dearest.
    Mom

Leave a Reply

