Walnut Streusel Bread

A few weeks ago my friend Pam hosted a play date and served one of the most delicious quick breads I have ever tasted, Walnut Streusel Bread. Being the food blogging mom that I am, I bugged her for the recipe so I could make it at home and share it with all of you.  The original recipe was from Cooking Light Magazine, but I added my usual twists, and it came out tasting just as scrumptious.

The streusel topping calls for cinnamon, but I want to introduce you to a new glorious spice I tried that is perfect for the upcoming Thanksgiving and Christmas baking. Move over cinnamon! Hello Apple Pie Spice! You know how the fashion industries go through color seasons where pink is the new black and taupe is the new white? Well, I’ve decided the food industry needs to do the same, and apple pie spice is the new cinnamon. It’s that good! You can get it from my favorite spice place, Penzeys Spices, or I’m sure any grocery store would have a similar product. The ingredients include two different kinds of cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and mace which is a spice with a flavor similar to nutmeg.

I could go on all day about how deliciously marvelous this bread is, but I would be keeping you from making a loaf for yourself. So go! Bake a loaf! Right now!

Walnut Streusel Bread

sliced walnut streusel bread

Streusel
1/3 cup sugar
1/3 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon apple pie spice
2 tablespoons butter, melted
2 tablespoons chopped walnuts
 
Bread
1 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 cup white whole wheat flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
5 tablespoons butter, softened
2/3 cup sugar
3 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup rice milk
 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Coat a 9 x 5-inch loaf pan with baking spray.

To make the streusel topping, combine the sugar, oats, flour, and apple pie spice in a small bowl. Add the melted butter, stir until combined, then add the chopped nuts. Mix again and set aside.

To make the bread, combine the flour, baking soda, and baking powder in a medium size bowl. In a large bowl, beat the butter and sugar until well blended. Add the eggs and vanilla and beat again. On a low speed, alternately beat in the flour mixture and the milk into the butter mixture. Beat until combined. Pour half the bread batter into the loaf pan, then pour half the streusel on top. Pour the rest of the bread batter on top of the streusel, then with a butter knife, swirl this mixture. Finish off with the remaining streusel. Bake for 50 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Cool for at least 10 minutes before removing the loaf to finish cooling on a wire rack. Eat Up!

Note: The streusel topping could be used on many different quick breads if you wanted to jazz one up. I’ve made this bread several times already and doubled the streusel topping once, but it made the bread too dense. I just thought I would let you know so you don’t go a little streusel crazy like I did and make the same mistake!

Wet and dry ingredients

mixing bowls

The glorious streusel. It was worthy of a picture by itself!

streusel

The bread batter

bread batter

Layering

layers     layering

Topping it off! Note to self: Do a better job of EVENLY dividing the streusel between the middle layer and the top layer. As you can see from the picture, I came up a little short on this top layer. Don’t worry, though; the world didn’t cone to end!

topping

A baked loaf of lusciousness
walnut streusel bread     walnut streusel bread
The glorious rays of Heaven even shone down on this magnificent baked delight. At least that is what struck me when I took this picture. Actually, it was the light coming in from the skylight above.

heavenly bread

walnut streusel bread

About soupermomskitchen

My day begins and ends in the kitchen, and I believe all moms have a little (or a lot) of Super Woman in them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Walnut Streusel Bread

  1. Lynn says:

    This looks like a great fall bread! I’ll have to add it to may list of “breads to bake” this fall/winter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

