Homemade Birthday Treats

My oldest son, Jake, celebrated his third birthday a few weeks ago, and I had a play date birthday party in his honor! My sister and her two children graced us with their presence, as did my good friends Maria and Pam and their children. Much fun was had by all, and I can’t wait for the next birthday celebration! I always count a party a success when the moms have as much fun as the kids, and there is hardly any stress preparing for it.

What’s my secret for a stress-free birthday treat that takes less time to make than ordering a cake and picking it up? Vanilla Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes with Chocolate Frosting! I’m on a total Autumn baking kick these days, and since my son’s birthday falls at this time of year, these glorious cupcakes fit in nicely to my baking line-up. You don’t need a birthday excuse, though, to whip up these homemade treats. Just any Autumn day would do! The original recipe was from the Penzeys Spices catalog, which is where I order a lot of my seasonings from, but I added in my usual twists. I found that using pumpkin pie spice instead of cinnamon really jazzed up the flavor and gave the cupcakes a more dreamy taste. I hope you agree. Eat up!

What do you like to serve at birthday parties for your children?

Vanilla Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes with Chocolate Frosting

vanilla pumpkin spice cupcakes

Cupcakes
1 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 cup white whole wheat flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1/2 cup almond or rice milk (you can use regular milk)
1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
 
Frosting
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
3 cups powered sugar
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 cup almond or rice milk (you can use regular)
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
 

For the cupcakes, preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Fill a 12-count cupcake tin with paper liners. In a large bowl, beat together butter and sugar until well blended. Add the eggs, milk, and vanilla extract and beat again. In another bowl, mix together flours, baking powder, and pumpkin pie spice. Add the flour mixture to the wet ingredients and stir until well combined. Fill the cupcake tin and bake for 15 minutes, until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Invert the cupcakes onto a wire rack and cool before frosting.

For the frosting, beat all the icing ingredients in large bowl until well combined. Have a few spoonfuls then frost the cupcakes! It doesn’t get much better than that!

 
The ingredients

ingredients

Fresh out of the oven

fresh out of the oven

Frosted and ready to be eaten. Get this party started!

frosted cupcakes

Bring out the birthday boy!

birthday boy

My youngest son ate the other half of this. Sorry. Just so you know, I devoured this piece after taking this photo! Wouldn’t you!?!

half eaten cupcake

About soupermomskitchen

My day begins and ends in the kitchen, and I believe all moms have a little (or a lot) of Super Woman in them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Homemade Birthday Treats

  1. Maria says:

    I love that photo of Jake! And, I can vouch for the deliciousness of those cupcakes. Yum!

Leave a Reply

