Something Smells Fishy Around Here

It was a Friday night, I didn’t feel like cooking, and I was hoping someone would suggest we go out to eat. Ever feel this way? I’m sure most moms do at one time or another, and when the suggestion to go out doesn’t materialize, everything you need for my quick Fish Tacos are probably on hand already. I realized I had the fish, taco shells, and taco fixings in the cupboard, and a brilliant dinner idea was born! Okay, not really, but it did make cooking that night super quick and easy which, in my opinion, is a brilliant idea any night of the week!

As I mentioned above, I used whatever I had in my fridge to make these, but the tacos are missing the typical Mexican ingredients like tomatoes and avocado, so if you have these in your possession, I highly recommend using them. They did taste just fine without them, though. Any mild white fish (wild caught is best) will work, and I just happened to have on hand Seamazz Deep Sea Dory Fillet, which is a good choice. My dear friend Maria was oh so very kind to share some of her mother-in law’s delicious homemade salsa with me, and it added just the right amount of flavor and spice. Serve with some homemade margaritas (every mom needs one of these every now and then), and you just might not want to eat out ever again! Maybe!

Fish Tacos

fish tacos

5 – 6  thin medium-sized white fish fillets
1 small can sliced black olives
6 – 8 hard corn taco shells, warmed
Sour cream or plain Greek yogurt
1/2  small head of lettuce, chopped
1/2  8 oz. jar of your favorite salsa
Shredded cheddar cheese
Salt and pepper to taste
 

Heat a little olive oil in a large skillet on the stove. Place the fish fillets on a cutting board and cut into bite-sized pieces. Place these pieces in the skillet on low-medium heat, and cook for 10 – 15 minutes, until the fish is cooked through (white in color). Add the salsa and continue to cook until heated through, another 5-10 minutes. Salt and pepper according to your liking and/or add some taco seasoning if you want more kick. I have learned that just like each and every one of us is unique in our own way, so we all build and layer our tacos according to our own tastes. Having said that, here is the way I do it! Take a taco shell, fill the bottom with fish, then sprinkle with cheese (so it melts from the hot fish), add lettuce, and top with olives, Greek yogurt, and more salsa. Eat up! Serves 4.

ingredients   fish The amigos

cooking fish Cooked fish

salsa fish Salsa added

Mucho Gracias!

fish tacos

About soupermomskitchen

My day begins and ends in the kitchen, and I believe all moms have a little (or a lot) of Super Woman in them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Something Smells Fishy Around Here

  1. Maria says:

    I’m so glad that you shared this. I’ve attempted to make fish tacos in the past and used the wrong fish, so it didn’t turn out well. Thanks, as always, Jacqie, for sharing your talents with all of us!

Leave a Reply

