Let the Autumn Baking Begin

I apologize for not posting a recipe last week, but I assure you it was because I was one busy souper mom, cooking to my heart’s content for a wonderful visit with my grandparents from New York and for all of you. It was a great week filled with enjoyable company,  good eats, and lots of noise from the boys! I have lived away from my grandparents all my life, so a visit with them is a time to be treasured and celebrated.

Fall is just a couple of days away, so let the Autumn baking begin. I just love everything about Fall, from the cooler days and rich colors to the spicy scents and warm, hearty meals. It is my favorite time of year. There is no better way to introduce Fall than with the Apple Spice Muffin recipe for today. It boasts everything Autumn with its inclusion of apple pieces and lots of cinnamon spice. Pair it with some warm cider for an afternoon treat or a pumpkin spice latte for an inviting breakfast. Eat up!

What do you love most about Fall?

Apple Spice Muffins

apple spice muffins

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup white whole wheat flour
1/2 cup sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice
3/4 cup almond or rice milk (you can substitute regular milk)
1/3 cup oil
1 egg, beaten
1 large green apple, peeled and finely chopped (1 cup)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Grease or line with paper cups a 12-count muffin tin.

Combine all dry ingredients in large bowl. Combine all wet ingredients in medium bowl. Add wet to dry, mix until well combined, and then add apple pieces. Spoon into muffin tin and bake for 20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Very easy. Very quick. The kids can even help with this one, and these muffins make a very healthy snack for them! Enjoy!

Chopped apples

chopped apples

Wet and dry ingredients combined

wet and dry

Combined ingredients

combined ingredients

Ta Da!

baked muffins

Eat up! I wish Fall would last all year long!

apple spice muffins sliced

About soupermomskitchen

My day begins and ends in the kitchen, and I believe all moms have a little (or a lot) of Super Woman in them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Let the Autumn Baking Begin

  1. Lynn says:

    Currently, my favorite thing about Fall is the cooler weather it brings!

    Those muffins look delicious! i just made a batch of carrot muffins – will have to give these a try once I (with some help from Monster) demolish the carrot muffins, hehe.

  2. Chrissy says:

    Once again, Jacqie, another great recipe! I always look forward to yours and Lynn’s blogs with each delightful recipe.

  3. Critterditter says:

    Mmmmmm! These sound fabulous! Lol- o love the idea of them with the latte! Does fall get any better? 🙂

  4. Joan DeLuca says:

    The thing I love most about Autumn is piling up great mounds of leaves and watching the boys make a mess of them, just like you and Chrissy used to do. Love, Mom!

  5. Anne Miller says:

    This looks delicious Jacqie! Can I substitute 1/3 cup of butter for the 1/3 cup of oil?

  6. If you melt the butter, you might have to add more butter because you may need a little bit more liquid. I don’t think 1/3 cup butter melted would equal a 1/3 cup of oil. If you decide to let the butter soften and beat with the egg, I am not sure if it still will be too dry. You could add more almond milk if need be. Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

