Slide Right Into the Swing of School and Labor Day

While my children are still too young to be starting any formal schooling (I will be doing some homeschool preschool with my oldest), I know many of you have sent your children back to school already. I don’t know about you, but I can’t believe it’s that time of year again. It seems like only yesterday summer just began. I’m not complaining though, because this means we are fast approaching my favorite time of year – Autumn!

With Labor Day weekend practically upon us, I want to share with you a recipe that takes the labor out of cooking for a Labor Day party or on one of those busy nights filled with homework assignments. Drum roll please! Italian Meatball Sliders! They are an A+ in my book!

Sauce, rolls, and meatballs are all you need for this simple dish. I do provide a recipe for meatballs, but if you already have a favorite, please feel free to use it. I had leftover ricotta cheese, which I wanted to use up, so I tossed it in my batch of meatballs. I normally don’t make mine with dairy, but I thought it would be interesting to experiment this time. They did turn out more moist and scrumptious though, so I may be making them this way more often! Eat up!

Italian Meatball Sliders

meatball sliders

1-2 packages frozen Ciabatta rolls (or rolls of your choice)
1/2 – 1 jar of your favorite Mariana sauce
1 lb lean ground meat (turkey, chicken or beef – you pick)
1 egg
1/4 cup breadcrumbs
1/4 cup ricotta cheese
1/2 teaspoon onion powder
1/2 teaspoon dried Italian Seasoning
1 teaspoon salt
Ground pepper to taste
 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a baking sheet with oil.

In a medium size bowl, combine all the ingredients except the rolls and sauce. Form meat mixture into medium sized balls and place on baking sheet. You should have around 18-20 meatballs. Bake for 20 minutes.

While the meatballs are baking, warm the sauce in a large pot on the stove. When the meatballs are done, remove them from the oven, slice them in half, and place them in the sauce. Bake the rolls according to package directions. When the rolls are done, slice them open, place a few meatballs and sauce inside each roll, top with Parmesan cheese (if you like), and serve. Mangia!

I used Alexia’s Rosemary and Olive Oil Ciabatta Rolls

ciabatta rolls

Working the meatball magic
meatball mixture
 
Let’s bake these Italian babies!
meatballs before baking
Snug as a bug in a…

meatballs in sauce

Drum roll please!

meatball sliders sans parmesan

Whoa! Wait! They really do need some Parmesan!

meatball sliders with parmesan

About soupermomskitchen

My day begins and ends in the kitchen, and I believe all moms have a little (or a lot) of Super Woman in them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Slide Right Into the Swing of School and Labor Day

  1. Joan DeLuca says:

    I think I’ll slide right into these, Dearest, along with a great glass of Italian Red!
    Love,
    Mom

  2. Christina says:

    I think I know what’s for dinner 😉 My favorite part — the Ciabatta rolls. I normally think ‘hoagie’ (or big size buns) so the idea of using those (and freshly baked–yum) would be more in-line with a ‘single serving’ than a traditional meatball hoagie kinda thing. Thanks for another great idea. Your making me look good!

    Hope you had a nice Labor Day weekend.

    • Thank you again, Christina! Hats off to you for trying so many new things, and I’m so glad they are a big hit with your family. The Ciabatta rolls are a nice touch to the classic meatball sandwich. Speaking of hoagie rolls, I just tried Firehouse Subs in Cranberry, and they are delicious! The best subs I have ever had. You’ll have to give them a try sometime if you have not eaten there already.

Leave a Reply

