Vegetables for Breakfast – Happy Thought Indeed!

Is it even possible that my children would eat vegetables for breakfast? The answer to that is simple but not what I want to hear. No! But what if my kids didn’t even know healthy vegetables lurked inside the delicious meal I set before them? As a “souper” mom, I can be the master of disguise! This should be easy for me since I feel I wear many disguises throughout the day – lone ranger, storyteller, nurse, teacher, zoo keeper.  You name it, I’ve done it!

As summer is drawing to a close and the start of school is fast approaching, I feel the need to share with you a recipe that disguises vegetables so your children will eat them, continues to help you use up any leftover garden goodies, and gives your children a nutritious start to the day. Lemon Zucchini Bread does just that! This is not just any ordinary bread. It is a loaf of love from my days of homeschooling with my mother. It is one of my favorite recipes of her’s, and I have very fond memories of munching on slices of this delight while studying. I think it made homework easier, and I hope it will do the same for you and your children!

What do you normally like to feed your children before sending them off to school or getting a day of homeschool underway?

Lemon Zucchini Bread

final picture

1 cup pure maple syrup
3 eggs
1/2 cup olive oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Grated zest of 1 lemon
Juice of one lemon (you can use the lemon you grated)
1 1/2 cups zucchini (1 medium zucchini), grated, skin left on
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray 3 mini loaf pans with oil. I like to use mini loaf pans because it makes the kids feel like they are having breakfast in their “size.” I admit I could eat one of these in just one sitting!

Whisk eggs in medium size bowl then add maple syrup, oil, and vanilla extract. Stir in grated lemon zest, lemon juice, and zucchini. In a large bowl combine flour and baking soda. Add wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix well. Divide batter evenly between the three pans, and bake for 35 minutes. Test with sharp knife and make sure it comes out clean. Cool in baking pans for at least 20 minutes before inverting onto a wire rack. This ensures that the bottoms don’t stick to the pans.

Slice, serve, enjoy, relax! Isn’t that a happy start to your morning!

Notes: These mini loaves freeze well and make great gifts for teachers. You can also make this recipe in one large loaf pan but bake it for at least 50 minutes.

Grated zucchini

grated zucchini

Lemon zest

lemon zest

Wet ingredients

wet ingredients

Wet and dry ingredients combined

wet and dry ingredients

On their way to the oven

un-baked loaves

Loaves of love

loaves of love

baked loaves

sliced bread

lemon zucchini bread

Nibble, nibble

sliced bread

About soupermomskitchen

My day begins and ends in the kitchen, and I believe all moms have a little (or a lot) of Super Woman in them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Vegetables for Breakfast – Happy Thought Indeed!

  1. Joan DeLuca says:

    Homework made easier! You didn’t know it, but I was kneeling on rice outside your door, praying my lessons made some sense. Now I’m glad to hear the zucchini bread helped too.
    Love, Mom

  2. Maria says:

    I love zucchini bread! I look forward to trying this variation of it with the lemon. It looks delicious, Jacqie!

  3. Lynn says:

    I think it’s serendipitous you posted this recipe when you did. I meant to make zucchini bread yesterday, but didn’t get to it…looks like I’ve got a new zucchini bread recipe to try. Thanks, Souper Mom! 🙂

  4. Jen says:

    I tried this recipe today and LOVED it! Lemon is my favorite, and my Nana used to make delicious zucchini bread, so I couldn’t go wrong with this one! You are such an inspiration. This was absolutley delicious…even my neighbors came back for 2nds!

Leave a comment