Tomatoes and Garlic and Basil! OH MY! – A Party in Your Mouth

bruschettaTomatoes, succulent. Garlic, pungent. Basil, delectable. What does that spell? Bruschetta! I just couldn’t wait to tell you what I have in store for you today. It’s like a party in your mouth! Bruschetta is, without a doubt, one of my favorite dishes, and I could eat it every single day in the summer. This dish made it to my top ten most fabulous-meals-in-the-world list!!

basilBasil, in my opinion, is the god of herbs. The amount of flavor it adds to a dish is just, well, heavenly! It is very versatile and can be added to so many dishes. It makes terrific pesto, which I will blog about soon, and makes my life a little happier! Just look at how pretty it is! And wait until you taste it!

As I mentioned in my last post, I don’t garden, but this recipe is a great way to use up those extra tomatoes or basil plants you might have planted too much of. Bruschetta is a perfect light meal you make with goat cheese, as my recipe calls for, or mozzarella. If you prefer a dairy-free version, this dish is delightful without the cheese. It does not require a lot of effort or time to make, so it is perfect to serve at an impromptu party or as a last-minute dinner option. It is so scrumptious, I would recommend you make double the amount. Let Bruschetta be your next summer delight!

Tomato and Basil Bruschetta

bruschetta slices

1 whole baguette, sliced, discarding the ends
5 garden tomatoes, chopped (I used cherry tomatoes this time.)
2 large cloves garlic, minced
1 bunch basil, coarsely chopped
4 tablespoons olive oil, or more or less to your taste
1 small log goat cheese
Salt and pepper to taste

In a medium bowl combine the tomatoes, garlic, and basil. Add the olive oil and toss to combine. Season with salt and pepper according to your liking.

Turn the broiler on high. Place the sliced bread in a single layer on a baking sheet and drizzle with olive oil. Toast the bread in the broiler for approximately 5 minutes, being careful not to let it burn.

Transfer the bread to a serving platter, and spread each slice generously with goat cheese. Spoon the tomato, basil, and garlic mixture evenly over the bread slices and serve immediately. Eat up!

The Ingredients

bruschetta ingredients

tomato and garlic

tomato, garlic, basil

tomato and basil mixture

tomatoe and basil mixture

Preparing the bread for the broiler

bread

Toasted bread

toasted breadAs you can see, a few were a little too crispy. Oops! Of course, I still ate them!

Goat cheese spread on the toasted baguette

goat cheese spread It’s coming together!!

True love. Let the party begin!

bruschetta

This is how it’s done!

almost all gone

No! Wait! This is how it’s done!

all gone

About soupermomskitchen

My day begins and ends in the kitchen, and I believe all moms have a little (or a lot) of Super Woman in them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tomatoes and Garlic and Basil! OH MY! – A Party in Your Mouth

  1. Lynn says:

    Looks delicious! Your pictures are fantastic!

    • Thanks, Lynn. I am trying to get better at the whole photography aspect. I bought a book to help me get the camera off auto and be more proactive. I have learned that using as much natural light as possible is key.

  2. inherchucks says:

    Total party in my mouth. This looks A.MAZ.ING!!! I can’t wait to make my own. Thanks for the inspiration 🙂

  3. Mary Burke says:

    Message and recipe not coming through. 

    • Mary, I sent you an email in regards to this. I am guessing something is going on with your computer, but you should receive an email with a link to the post on the website. Please let me know if there is anything else I can do.

  4. Christina says:

    OK, I tried it! With a meat and potatoes kind of family, it’s a real stretch to get anybody to try something new (they’ll taste test, but generally I’m discarding or passing leftovers to another family member). We *do* however, have a huge garden and eat a lot of fresh vegetables (and salsa, etc).

    The Bruschetta, however, was a different story! I was a pool party hero with my family and guests! I did do a few variations to increase the odds for success here (used fresh mushrooms diced finely, 1/4 c. baon diced finely and of course mozzerella — dare anybody see a goal cheese package or forget that test). Anyway, the idea is that your thought provoking ideas and comments help me to get the ball rolling and have fun with our fresh garden veggies. And for that, I thank you !!

    • I’m so glad everyone liked it. I like the additions you added. Very clever. I am also so glad I was able to provide the inspiration to try something different. That is one of my goals of this blog. It meant a lot, Christina! Thank you so much for reading and for the interest.

Leave a Reply

