You Won’t Believe What’s In Here!

A few weeks ago my dear friend Maria invited me to a ladies/moms only party at her house where two of her friends would be selling Thirty-One bags and purses and L’Bri skin care. But my son Connor, being the party boy that he is, decided to crash the party and make it a moms only plus one little man affair. I probably don’t need to comment on the fact that he thoroughly enjoyed all the female attention he received that afternoon, and I’m sure he is getting ready for the next bash!

I myself had an absolutely wonderful time and am anxiously waiting for the next get together. Maria was the perfect hostess. She welcomed her guests with a warm and happy smile and entertained all of us with charm and finesse. I met some fabulous women and mothers particularly, Amanda and Anne. Amanda sells Thirty-One products which range from “totes or purses you can wear while you’re out and about, thermals to help you transport food and drinks to a party, or organizational items to help you keep your house neat and tidy.” They have everything a lady, especially a mom, could possibly want to keep her life orderly, have her looking marvelous, and feeling super! I am totally addicted and have already put in two orders.

Anne sells L’Bri Pure n’ Natural, which is a complete line of skin care, nutritional, and beauty products made with aloe vera. Beautiful, ageless skin is possible (no matter what the kids do to you in a single day) with the products L’Bri has to offer, and you don’t have to feel guilty about putting these goods all over your body because they are free of sodium lauryl sulfates (SLS)! What more could a mother possibly ask for – besides perfectly behaved children all the time!

It was an afternoon of pampering and girl talk, and of course, good food! Which brings me to the recipe for today – Chocolate Avocado Cupcakes. I made these and brought them to the party to accompany all the delicious appetizers Maria served. Avocado is the unique ingredient in this recipe, and you would never know it was included because you can’t see it, taste it, or smell it. Yet, it adds the perfect balance of moistness and richness. The cupcakes themselves are actually very healthy because they are sweetened with maple syrup and are made without eggs, which is great for those who have allergies. I made mine dairy-free and used almond milk instead of cow’s milk, but, of course, I had to top them with Coffee Icing which threw the whole healthy part out the window! But, hey, it was for a party, right!

I apologize for blogging about another chocolate cupcake so soon after writing about the Chocolate Surprise Cupcakes, but I think these have become my new favorite treat, and I couldn’t wait to share them with you. They just might become your favorite too! Whip up a batch and let me know what you think!

Chocolate-Avocado Cupcakes with Coffee Icing

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 teaspoon baking powder

3/4 teaspoon baking soda

1 semi-ripe avocado, pitted and peeled

1 cup pure maple syrup

3/4 cup milk

1/3 cup olive oil

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened

2 cups powdered sugar

3 tablespoons coffee, cooled

1 tablespoon instant coffee granules

Cupcakes:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a 12-count cupcake tin with paper liners.

Combine flour, cocoa, baking powder, and baking soda in a large mixing bowl.

Puree avocado in food processor until smooth. Add maple syrup, milk, oil, and vanilla. Process until well combined. Pour this mixture into the flour mixture and whisk until well combined.

Spoon batter into prepared cupcake tin and bake for 25 minutes, or until toothpick inserted into center comes out with a few crumbs. Cool before icing.

Icing:

Beat powdered sugar and butter on high in a mixing bowl until blended together. Add coffee granules and coffee. Beat once more until well combined. The icing will turn a slight mocha color because of the coffee, and the granules will give the frosting a nice texture and unique look. Spread even amounts of icing on the cupcakes and serve. Don’t expect there to be any leftovers!

All wet ingredients in food processor

Blended avocado mixture

Flour and avocado mixtures combined. Okay, I had a few spoonfuls!

The finished product. Sorry, I never took a separate picture of the icing.

You can’t eat just one! Enjoy!

About soupermomskitchen

My day begins and ends in the kitchen, and I believe all moms have a little (or a lot) of Super Woman in them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to You Won’t Believe What’s In Here!

  1. Maria says:

    This was so nice! Thank you! I’m glad you and Mr. Connor had so much fun! I must say that these cupcakes were a big hit at the party. You cannot taste the avocado (even though I like avocado) and the maple syrup gave it a mellow, sweet flavor. And who doesn’t love coffee? Great job with these, my creative friend!

  2. Marie says:

    This sounds so decadently yummy that I will have to make them… I will modify to make GF. I will let you know how they turn out 🙂

  3. Joan DeLuca says:

    This party and those cupcakes sound like something not to be missed! Maybe next time I could come as Connor’s date!

  4. Lynn says:

    These look delectable! Now I’m trying to think of a good reason to make them. P doesn’t particularly like cake or chocolate, so looks like I might have to organize a ladie’s night myself so I don’t eat them all myself! 😉

  5. Michelle says:

    Jacqie – I can not wait to try this recipe. I just need to find the time………

  6. Marie says:

    Souper Mom in the Kitchen….
    I made the Chocolate Avocado Cupcakes today and it was very difficult allowing the time to let them cool before I could frost them. The cupcakes were very dense/moist is this typical? I wanted to ask because I did sub a mixture of all purpose GF flour (1c. all I had made up) and ½ c. brown rice flour plus ¾ tsp. Xanthan gum for the all purpose flour. I did bake the full 25 min.

    I had a big problem with the icing though. 1 c. powdered sugar, ½ c. butter, 3 Tbs cold coffee and 1 Tb. granulated coffee, gave me a pourable icing. It was more a glazing texture. I had to add over 3 c. (total) powdered sugar to get a frosting texture that would not run off the cupcakes. Any chance it was a misprint?

    These were so yummy! And the icing was the best with the double coffee in it… I did add some vanilla. And yes… it’s very difficult not to keep eating them!! I was surprised at how ‘thickish’ the liquids and avocado came out (I used a stick blender)… I almost just wanted to eat that with a spoon 🙂 Thankyou, thankyou for this deelish recipe!

    • Sorry you had a little bit of difficulty with the recipe. While I have not made them gluten-free, I can attest to them being very moist. Not dense, though, that might be because of the change in the flour. Sorry about the icing. Yes, there was a misprint, but I only needed 2 cups powered sugar. The liquids did not come out thick for me, but I did let the food processor run a while because I wanted to make sure the avocado was completely blended in.

      • Marie says:

        Thanks so much. Your response gives me the info I need to trouble shoot on my end… I will try them again when I have enough of my GF flour blend which I have always been able to change out 1 for 1 without an issue in all my recipes. Re the liquid mixture, next time I will turn the stick blender down and I feel pretty certain it won’t emulsify and get thick – I don’t know if that had anything to do with the moist/dense texture but I will find out 🙂 I will report back when that all takes place… it may be a few weeks unless I can find people to help us eat these Just to be clear… these will NOT go begging… they are delicious!

  7. Pingback: Tomatoes and Garlic and Basil! OH MY! – A Party in Your Mouth | Souper Mom in the Kitchen

  8. Marie says:

    SouperMom… I made these again after I put together another batch of my all purpose Gluten Free flour and they turned out perfectly! In place of all purpose flour, I used my all purpose Gluten Free flour blend along with 3/4 tsp. Xanthan gum. I feel certain no one would be able to detect that they were gluten free… Thanks again for the great recipe!

Leave a Reply

