A Slice of the Farmer’s Market Harvest

No matter how hard I try, I cannot grow, or manage to keep alive any plant. I am one of those people, who have never had a green thumb, and I’m 99.9% sure I never will. Every year for Mother’s Day the Big Bad…ahem gives me some sort of potted greenery, regardless of the fact that I have killed every single living thing he has given me in the past. I even managed to kill the Hydrangea plant, which is my most favorite plant in the whole wide world, that he gave me for Mother’s Day a year ago. How sad is that?

For the record, let me say that I admire and respect all my fellow “souper” moms, who grow their own plants, fruits and vegetables. I am sure there is so much joy and satisfaction that comes with cooking dinner with all your own home-grown food. Well, my joy comes from satisfying my family’s appetite with seasonal bounty from the local farmers’ markets, particularly Soergel’s Orchard in Wexford, PA, not far from where I grew up. This brings me to the recipe for today, Sauteed Vegetable Pizza.

Who doesn’t like pizza? It is probably every child’s favorite meal (mine at least), and with fresh vegetables and a cheese of your choice, you can’t go wrong. You can use any fresh vegetables you want – peppers, onions, zucchini, eggplant – let the creativity roll. This dish is super nutritious, delicious, colorful, and does not need sauce. So sit back, relax, and have a slice or two. You’ve earned it, especially if you grow your own veggies!

Sauteed Vegetable Pizza

1 -12 inch pizza shell

1/2 half red bell pepper, thinly sliced

1/2 half yellow pepper, thinly sliced

1/2 onion, thinly sliced

1/2 zucchini, thinly sliced

1 small package (4 oz.) sun-dried tomatoes

1 garlic clove, minced

Olive oil

Dried herb mixture of your choice. I used Italian seasoning.

Cheese of your choice. I tried something new, a brie made with goat cheese. Yum!

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Place the pizza shell on a cookie sheet, drizzle the entire dough with olive oil and sprinkle with herbs and minced garlic. Bake for 10 minutes.

While the crust is baking, heat olive oil in a frying pan. Saute sliced vegetables in heated oil until tender. Do not caramelize them or allow them to get too soft since they will also bake in the oven. Slice the sun-dried tomatoes in small strips.

When the crust is done, reduce oven temperature to 350 degrees. Layer the sauteed vegetables on top of the crust, followed by the sun-dried tomatoes, and then the cheese. Bake until cheese has melted, about 15 minutes. Cut into 8 slices and serve. Mangia!

Before…

After…

About soupermomskitchen

My day begins and ends in the kitchen, and I believe all moms have a little (or a lot) of Super Woman in them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Slice of the Farmer’s Market Harvest

  1. Marie says:

    Dear SouperMom,
    The pizza looks fantabulous!! But that is not what my comment is about 🙂 In my much younger years, I too, was also someone who could not keep a plant alive to save me… Just so you know that there is hope for what seems to be ‘hopeless’, I now have a number of indoor plants that I get along with really well… I was even able to ‘nurse’ an orchid plant back to producing blossoms – it was my daughter’s and had not grown a leaf or blossomed in several years… Once your children are nurtured and grown, you never know what will become of your ‘nurturing energy’…. I tell you this because there is much hope for you also 🙂

  2. Lynn says:

    Looks delicious! Veggie pizza is one of my favorite’s (and the quick clean-up doesn’t hurt either). 😉 Love the pictures, too.

  3. Maria says:

    I am with you on the plants. I’ve killed every single one I’ve come in contact with during my life! This pizza look delicious (I’m a big fan of goat cheese- yum!) and I look forward to trying it!

    • I love goat cheese also. This brie mix was really interesting because you can’t grate it like you would mozzarella so I had to cut it up in chucks. I was a little nervous as to how it would turn out, but once it was melted, it was yummy!

      I just don’t know what it is with plants and me. It is a big joke in my family’s.

  4. Joan DeLuca says:

    Love the vibrant pictures and know how delicious this is! Can’t wait to see what you’re cooking up next!

Leave a Reply

