Let’s Keep Our Cool Around Here

I’m referring to temperature in the title of this post and not me when the boys are swinging from the rafters, the house is in disarray, and all my best-laid plans for the day have gone haywire. Not that I don’t need a dose of calm now and then. It has been another blazing hot week here, and I’m ready to cool off by heading to the North Pole. Why not? Pay St. Nick a little visit, as the saying goes, “Christmas in July.” Better yet, maybe I should send the two little pigs and the big bad…Just kidding!

Well, my fellow “souper” moms, I had you in mind when I created this recipe – Chicken and Cabbage Slaw. Wait a minute. I always have you in mind! What I mean to say is that this horrible heat inspired me to think about you even more than usual because this dish requires no baking, no cooking (with the exception of poaching the chicken) and therefore, you don’t have to turn the oven on. Whether you have A/C or not, you will remain cool! At least temperature wise that is!

When I began thinking about this recipe, I thought to myself – how can I get a dinner on the table without using the oven or having to fire up the hot grill outside in the wretched heat? I used my “souper” mom brain, and Presto! Chicken and Cabbage Slaw was born. Cabbage, I think, is one of those vegetables that is hard to find an interesting and tasty recipe for, but I have come to really like it, and it is perfect for this dish. Okay, I confess, vegetables aren’t my favorite food group, so I sometimes find it a little difficult to always figure out how to use them in a palatable way for my family and me. This appetizing combo is great for a potluck, family gathering, picnic, or a dinner at home. It is a great make-ahead supper leaving you time to get the kids down from the rafters and bring order to chaos, allowing you to feel super once again!

I am introducing you to a new product with this recipe, Ume Plum Vinegar. It is a specialty red vinegar that you can find at Whole Foods or at the Eden Foods website. The flavor is both fruity and sour, and it is quite salty to the taste, which is the reason why there is no salt added to this recipe. If you decide you do not want to experiment with Ume Plum Vinegar, you can substitute red wine vinegar, but you will probably need to salt the dish according to your liking.

So do you have a go-to dish when the weather is unbearable? I’d love to hear from you.

Chicken and Cabbage Slaw

1/2 head cabbage, red, white or a combo of both, thinly shredded

1/2 onion, thinly sliced

1 package (about 1 lb) chicken tenders

1 lemon, quartered

2 tablespoons sesame seeds

1/2 cup almond slices

1 tablespoon maple syrup

2 tablespoons Ume Plum vinegar

3 tablespoons olive oil

Ground black pepper to taste

Bring a large pot of water to boil, and add the lemon and chicken tenders. Cook for three minutes then remove from heat and let sit, covered, for fifteen minutes. Remove the chicken tenders and allow to cool for a little bit. Meantime, place the cabbage and onion in a large bowl and toss together. Sprinkle with ground black pepper. Whisk the maple syrup, vinegar, and olive oil together, pour this over the cabbage and onions, and toss to cover completely. Stir every so often during this marinating process.

Slice the cooled chicken into bite-size pieces, add to the cabbage and onions, and toss to coat. Refrigerate for at least one hour so the dish has plenty of time to marinate. Right before serving, toast the sesame seeds and almond slices in a shallow skillet (cast iron is best) over a low flame until lightly browned. You will be able to smell the nutty scent of the almonds and seeds, about 5- 10 minutes, and this indicates that they are done.  Stir them often, being careful not to burn them. Add these to the chicken and cabbage, and you are ready to serve. Feeds 4-6.

About soupermomskitchen

My day begins and ends in the kitchen, and I believe all moms have a little (or a lot) of Super Woman in them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Let’s Keep Our Cool Around Here

  1. Joan DeLuca says:

    This is great, Jacqie. I love the pictures. You’re becoming quite the photographer. The pics bring the dish to life, and I think people really enjoy seeing the food. This is a must for recipe interest in my book. You’re the best!

  2. Critterditter says:

    Souper mom,

    Thank you for an enlightening idea for a summer meal! I feel spoiled with all these wonderful new ideas! 🙂 This one sounds perfect for the diet that my husband and I have been trying to stick to…lol, attempting more salad-like meals. I have mouth-watering memories of a chilled yummy taco salad with thousand island dressing my mom world serve on hot summer days. Mmmmm- spooned over a lettuce leaf and eaten a la tostitos. Mmmmm! P.s. I can’t tell you how much I look forward to reading these when I rock my baby after she falls asleep.

    • Hope you enjoy. This recipe is really healthy especially if you are trying to stick to more salad-like meals like you mentioned. Good for you. The taco salad your mom use to serve sounds really good and would keep one “cool” on a hot summer day. I’m so glad you like reading the blog and it is something to look forward to during your “mom” time. We all need that! I hope to post more often during the week in the near future.

  3. Chrissy says:

    Thanks, Jacqie, for sharing this recipe. It is delicious and so healthy. I love it when I don’t have to put the oven on in the summer. Oh, and the pictures are great. They make the dish look even more wonderful.

  4. Lynn says:

    Wow – this post came at a perfect time! i have a head of cabbage that i was trying to find a creative way to use besides my typical coleslaw standby. Needless to say, i just made this for dinner tomorrow and i can’t wait to try it!

  5. Marie says:

    Souper mom, this recipe looks so delish! I usually have some chicken or eggs cooked and in the fridge… I also usually have several 2 qt. canning jars filled with lacto fermented veggies in the fridge… so when I am feeling really lazy and don’t want to cook, I spoon the cold fermented veggies into a bowl and put the protein of the day on top and call it a meal 🙂

    I grew up in a large family and also was a single mom (of 3) for many years so I always did ‘plan ahead’ cooking to save (my) time, effort and energy. I would always cook up 3c. brown rice so I would have it for a number of different quickie meals during the week. I still do that with the rice just not 3 c. worth because my kids are all grown now… but I love to ‘scramble’ some of the cooked rice with a bit of EVOO or butter and have it with an egg or leftover chicken chunks and whatever veggies I have available for re-purposing… or a ‘creamed’ dish with rice, veggies and protein… or creamed eggs on toast….
    my ‘cream’ sauce is made with 2-3 Tbs EVOO or butter or combo,
    2 Tb.s Sweet Rice Flour [[ I get this at the oriental market – it’s in a box the exact size of a box of corn starch]],
    I do not use gluten and this is my thickener of choice for this sauce (and for gravy).
    1/4 tsp dry mustard
    several grates of fresh nutmeg (or 1/8-1/4 tsp ground nutmeg)
    salt to taste
    1/2 – 1 tsp granulated onion
    1 1/2 c. Almond milk – original unsweetened
    This cream sauce can be re-created into your cream sauce of choice… by sauteing onion or celery, or mushrooms in the oil/butter first before adding the rice flour and stirring for a bit before adding the remaining ingredients and cooking and stirring over medium heat till thickened.

    • Mmmm. This “cream” sauce recipe sounds delicious, and I will have to give it a whirl sometime. I love when a recipe can be used in more than one dish or on more than one food. It makes meal time much easier!

  6. Pingback: CSA Adventures – Week 7 & A Recipe « Me & Monster

  7. Berna says:

    This was our dinner on Saturday– it was perfect! Even my husband was most complimentary… I did substitute the red wine vinegar also, but hope to pick up some of the Ume Plum next time I’m at Whole Foods. I also grilled chicken since I didn’t have any tenders. Thanks, Jacqie, for letting nutritious and delicious strike again!

    We’re big BLT fans, especially with our garden fresh tomatoes. We’ve also been letting the grill make dinner for us during this hot spell– zucchini, veggie kebobs, salmon.

    Keep up the great work. BTW, where did that darling salad bowl come from?

    • I’m so glad everyone liked the dish. Grilled chicken sounds like a yummy substitute, and I’ll have to try that sometime. The bowl is actually my Mom’s. I made this at my Mom’s house, and I wanted something nice to put it in for the pictures.

Leave a Reply

