My Summer Begins with Pumpkins

I am sure many of you have heard of Christmas in July. Well, how about Pumpkin Muffins in June! I admit that on these blazing hot summer days in June my whole being longs for the season of Autumn (my favorite time of year) and all the glorious cooler days and spice scents that fill the air and my cooking! A few weeks ago I remembered all the cans of Farmer’s Market pumpkin I had stocked up on when my local grocery store was running an amazing sale, and as I stared at the cans, I realized that there would be more than enough to get me through all the cooking and baking in the Fall so I knew I could spare a can or two for some baking now. It was on one of those sweltering Summer days two weeks ago when I found myself, practically every five minutes, thanking God for the marvelous invention of air conditioning that I decided to make Pumpkin Muffins.

This recipe has been passed down from my Mom, and it has always been one of my favorites, holding very fond memories of enjoying these as a young girl. The original recipe calls for yams, but I just did a simple substitution with pumpkin puree, and they taste just as good. Please note that you will have leftover pumpkin from the can that you could use in another recipe. I made yummy pumpkin pancakes, and I will post that recipe shortly. Glorious cinnamon and nutmeg grace this recipe with their delicious taste and smell. I admit that I practically adore cinnamon, and I am one of those bakers that always double the amount of cinnamon called for in a recipe no matter what. I saved you the trouble and that has already been done for you here. However, if you want to add more (or less), more “souper” power to you! Just so you know, I did use organic butter, substituted rice milk for cow’s milk and used half unbleached, all-purpose flour and half white whole wheat flour. You could add a half cup of chopped nuts (pecans would probably be very good) if you wanted to. These muffins work really well for breakfast or an afternoon with tea (like I have time for that)! My kids love them too, and it is a recipe that I actually let my kids help with – an experience that was neither hair raising for myself nor for my children. Enjoy! What recipes more suitable for other seasons did you try this summer?

Pumpkin Muffins

1/2 cup butter, softened

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 1/4 cups canned pumpkin

1/3 cup milk

1 1/2 cups flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon nutmeg

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line a 12-count muffin tin with paper muffin liners.

In a large mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar until well blended. Add eggs, beating as you go. Stir in pumpkin and milk until well combined. In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Add these to the wet ingredients and mix until well combined. Here is a “souper” mom tip for you: Use an ice cream scooper to fill the muffin tin, and you will have evenly shaped muffins when finished baking, since the scooper measures the same amount each time. Bake for 20 minutes or until a tester comes out clean. Remove muffins from the tin and cool on a rack or serve right away with a little butter or cream cheese. Yum! These freeze well too. Yield: 12 muffins

About soupermomskitchen

My day begins and ends in the kitchen, and I believe all moms have a little (or a lot) of Super Woman in them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Summer Begins with Pumpkins

  1. Lynn says:

    I always double the amount of cinnamon in recipes too! Love the blog, by the way. 🙂

  2. Berna says:

    I made these yesterday and was very impressed. It is nice to have a recipe with more pumpkin than sugar. I used organic raw sugar and the blend of white/wheat flour. The muffins were scrumptious. I especially applaud the spice amounts– very tasty! Keep up the good work, Jacqie! Also, I am curious if you have any banana bread or muffin recipes…

    • I’m so glad you liked them and that they turned out good. Funny that you should ask about a banana bread recipe because I recently made some and took pictures for a future blog post. I’ll be heading into my Fall recipes, so I will email you the recipe so you don’t have to wait. I actually have two really good recipes that you can choose from.

Leave a Reply

